Search
  • Dark Edge Press

Dark Edge Press Sign Debut Historical Mystery Author Lizzie Bentham

Updated: Nov 2




We're really excited to be able to share with you today that we've signed debut author, Lizzie Bentham, a two-book deal. Her first title, Murder in Her First Degree is a historical murder mystery set in 1930s University of Manchester. With echoes of our own Macek III's The Antagonist and Birch's Shadow Pursuit this is a twisty tale focused on the narrative of the women it concerns and will appeal to fans of Agatha Christie and Elly Griffiths.



Lizzie Bentham started writing during lockdown with the aim of creating some imaginary friends to talk to, who could get out and about a bit more than she could. Originally from the northwest, she thoroughly enjoyed her time at university, so much so, she stayed on to do a doctorate in Chemistry. On graduating, so as not to leave the academic bubble, she discovered the dark side of research . . .


Research administration (as interesting as research but with a lot more cake). She worked in higher education helping academics to apply for research funding.


With Murder in Her First Degree, the first book in the Red Brick Mystery series, Lizzie combines her love of all things academic with another of her passions - murder mystery novels from the golden age of crime writing.


She currently lives in the west Midlands with her husband and two small children. When she is not writing, watching children’s television or visiting parks, Lizzie enjoys walks in the countryside, reading, flower-arranging and crocheting.


in Her First Degree will be published in eBook and print next year, and we're really looking forward to getting it into reader's hands.

315 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All